Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

Day of Change: Faces of America Abroad

with 3 comments

Obama supporters gathered in Phnom Penh to watch the presidential election and, later, celebrate. Even far away from the US, the emotion was palpable. I got to taking portraits of those people on the day they’ve been waiting for, some for years. (And then I couldn’t edit it down.)

Democrats Abroad watch party at the FCC, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Democrats Abroad watch party at the FCC, Phnom Penh, Cambodia

_mg_2658

_mg_2589

_mg_2495

_mg_2433

She was moved by John McCain's concession speech.

She was moved by John McCain's concession speech

_mg_2681

_mg_2593

mother and son reaction to McCain winning Georgia.

This one just for fun: mother and son reaction to McCain winning Georgia.

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Wednesday, 5 November, 2008 at 09:13

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My favorite is the second… the way his eyes are so obviously full of tears. and so blue.

    great portraits, Iz.

    Beth Carpenter

    Friday, 7 November, 2008 at 16:06

  2. Thanks Beth. The second is my favorite too. I wanted it in the paper, but it’s the first one that went. This guy showed so much emotion, I have a dozen portraits of him (post-edit) with his face in all sorts of grimaces. I had a hard time picking one. He’s a 25-year-old Obama volunteer from Indiana who couldn’t believe that even there, he had such high poll numbers.

    Isabelle Roughol

    Monday, 10 November, 2008 at 19:35

  3. I found your blog looking up what this “Schmap” business in my inbox was all about. I decided to give them a go because it was an image I wouldn’t consider selling normally.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say these photos are great, and I really enjoy seeing the crazy atmosphere as well as the portraits.

    I do find your brazenly-stated political bias toward strawberry tarts—a “red” fruit—troublesome. I demand recognition for equally delicious “blue” tarts!*

    *As far as I know, there are only blueberries… which are kinda purple. Les myrtilles? Bluets?

    Ian Woo

    Tuesday, 11 November, 2008 at 17:49


Leave a Reply

