Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

Thank you Missourian for forcing me to edit my first published movie

leave a comment »

I stayed up till 2 a.m. editing in iMovie last night, to finish a multimedia project due to the Missourian. The editors received multimedia training from Jane Stevens of UC Berkeley last week, and I was allowed to take part.

I worked with Greg Bowers, who reported and did narration on another video; Jake Sherlock, who took stills and edited the other video; and Keith Claxton, who handled audio, graphics and the upcoming Flash presentation, which I will link to soon. For my part, I handled the camera throughout, and edited and narrated the video below.

Notice there’s a lot of voice over? That’s because we had a flimsy mic that moved just half a millimeter in its outlet, enough not to record on 90 percent of the tape. Thankfully, we had a Marantz running so a lot of the natural sound has actually been added manually to the video. That’s why I was up till 2. That and the fact that I repeated my narration 20 times because I was growing self-conscious about my accent. Is it peeza? Pizaaah? Pizzzza?

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Wednesday, 5 December, 2007 at 00:20

Leave a Reply

