Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

Update: Sentinel’s Honig is taking job in PR

leave a comment »

I always find it depressing when I hear of journalists leaving the profession (the faith?) to take a job in PR. Tom Honig, my former editor at the Santa Cruz Sentinel, where I interned this summer, is now doing it, too. Of course, there are plenty of interesting jobs in public relations, and the pay sure is better, but journalists too often take those jobs out of necessity (which, again, doesn’t preclude a certain level of interest) more than out of desire.

I like how Tom puts it: “It’s not like I’m leaving because I was dying to do this, but I am really excited about it,” he said in the Sentinel’s story. A new job is exciting, but really, if he had his say… Tom also mentions in the Sentinel story that he’s expecting other cuts in the newsroom and thought his move might prevent a couple. The jury’s still out on that.

But, no, I will not yield to the sayers of dooms and glooms. And I will NOT take a job in PR. (Talk to me in 20 years, I guess.)

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Monday, 3 December, 2007 at 00:10

Leave a Reply

