Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

The HP junkie

with 2 comments

(HP fans, read entirely and closely.) Yes, I admit it. The reason I was so sleepy in the newsroom today is that I attended a midnight showing of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I watched the screen from an odd angle, for I had better things to do than wait in line from 6 in the morning. Ah, idle adolescent summers. Nevertheless, I had a great time and am now tempted to go watch it again… if it weren’t for the line that once again is running around the block.

Another pointless post to update you on the goings on at the J junkie. I may have originally overestimated my capacities when I bought the domain and server space. Thank goodness it is our choices that define who we are, far more than our abilities, because my abilities are non-existent. Learning CSS from scratch, with for only coding experience less a baker’s dozen of classes programming math problems in Turbo Pascal, is no easy task. The syntax is fairly logical and transparent, but it’s still a handful. But since it is the unknown we fear, I’ve decided to tackle this strange language. I’ve been learning by reading the code and observing what happens to the page when I change a line or two. So far, I’ve managed to widen columns and move them around the page. Ryan Sholin lent me a CSS book to help me out. That’s the program for the evening.

When I get tired of CSS, I move to Photoshop and other fun little apps to create the graphic look I want for the site. There, too, I couldn’t be more clueless about what I’m doing. (Nevermind that, I know quite a few people who are afraid the computer will strike back if they hit the wrong key. I guess they’d rather not trust anything that can think for itself when they can’t see where it keeps its brain. I, at least, know the power of Apple Z.) Other times, I’ve been quite frankly hiding from my computer, too overwhelmed. But numbing the pain for a while only makes it worse once you finally feel it. Gotta meet the beast.

Despite all the difficulties, I believe I chose correctly between what is right and what is easy. I will soon have a few idle weeks in France to sharpen my skills. I am hoping for a mid-August release, if only because I won’t have much time for designing when I become responsible for getting out a magazine every month. In the meantime, I will attempt to keep updating this (limited) site every other day or so. Now that Ryan has brought me a bunch more readers, I better give them something to read. Or if they leave, I’ll just go have some pudding and wait for them to turn up. They always do in the end.

(HP fans: how many HP quotes can you find hiding in this post? Come on, they’re really obvious. Bonus point if you can tell me who said it and where.)

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Wednesday, 11 July, 2007 at 23:17

Posted in (Pop) culture

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ‘I’ll just go have some pudding”
    luna lovegood

    Beth

    Friday, 13 July, 2007 at 09:20

  2. I waited in line for 5 hours. But it was fun. My friends and I busted out Scrabble and Apples to Apples. I get to cover the book release, so I’m wayyyyy excited.

    Tina

    Friday, 13 July, 2007 at 13:56


Leave a Reply

