Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

Newsrooms and dragons

leave a comment »

My first day at the Santa Cruz office was as I expected. Busier, louder, better. Again, not to berate my Watsonville colleagues, but after four weeks of quietness, I badly needed to rejoin a real newsroom.

Morri

Speaking of the newsroom, meet our pet. Morri, named after Jim Morrison, is a 4-year-old bearded dragon who lives on a shelf by the online desk. Donations of fruit, greens and toys are accepted.

The city editor was off today so I don’t know my exact assignment yet. But I worked with the copy chief. He had me sit down with him when he edited my story, which I love and missed the past four weeks. I think I will learn a lot from working in this newsroom. And I didn’t hear a single person today speculate on who’s going to lose their job. Nice break.

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Monday, 18 June, 2007 at 18:13

Leave a Reply

