Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

Your daily dose of optimism

leave a comment »

Not all is gloom indeed. I love this editorial by Dan Gillmorr, of the San Francisco Chronicle, who amidst all the cuts manages to stay optimistic.

There’s never been a better time, I tell students, to be a journalistic entrepreneur — to invent your own job, to become part of the generation that figures out how to produce and, yes, sell the journalism we desperately need as a society and as citizens of a shrinking planet. The young journalists who are striking out on their own today, experimenting with techniques and business models, will invent what’s coming.

I couldn’t agree more. Every week, I come up with a different journalistic project I want to pursue. Some I do pursue, some are staying in the suggestion box for now, but I can’t wait to get to them. Most of us can’t imagine doing anything but journalism anyway, so it’s up to us to figure out how we can do this. These are indeed tough times in journalism, but I am absolutely not worried about my generation of journalists. I’ve met too many talented and eager young journalists to worry.

My post yesterday was to give you an idea of the gloomy situation here, which got worse since. It was not, however, a reflection of my own state of mind about our overall journalistic future. We’ll do just fine.

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Friday, 8 June, 2007 at 12:00

Leave a Reply

