Isabelle Roughol – The J junkie

The tribulations of a young journalist and writer looking for work

What a difference a day makes

leave a comment »

Wow, 38 viewings in one day! That’s about 38 times my previous record. You guys like me. I’ll keep writing then.
Getting into the office Wednesday morning, I was a little dejected, not particularly fascinated with my story du jour and doubting I’d ever get to my dream job (correspondent in central Africa, for those very few who don’t know it yet).
Then, around mid-day, my editor reported that one of the big guys in the main office read my budget line and said “I like it, she seems like she’s quite the writer.” In the afternoon, a source came by the journal who really likes my work. Later that day, I came up with/was assigned not one, not two, but three stories that I’m really interested in. Today, a source (unvoluntarily) gave me a great idea for a more investigative piece. And, I have two stories (one and two) on the front page today, thank you very much.
I’m half-expecting something crappy to happen today, but so far, so good.

Written by Isabelle Roughol

Thursday, 7 June, 2007 at 11:53

Posted in Random stuff

Leave a Reply

